What is Awana?

What is Awana?

Age Groups

Awana—which stands for Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed (2 Tim. 2:15)—is used by churches around the world to effectively teach children the Bible. To facilitate age-appropriate learning environments, children are grouped into different club levels: Cubbies (three- and four-year-olds), Sparks (kindergarteners through second-graders), T&T (third- through sixth-graders), Trek (seventh- and eighth-graders) and Journey (9th through 12th graders).


A Typical Awana Club Meeting

Activities each night are broken into three distinct phases. Our strategy here is to meet the needs of every child—from the rambunctious child who has energy to burn to the inquisitive one who loves to hear stories.

Game Time

Individual and team competition takes place through circle games (exclusive to Awana) and playground favorites. Every child gets involved every night and has a chance to unleash his or her energy.

Handbook Time

Children work one-on-one with a trained leader to complete assignments in the curriculum materials.  Awana emphasizes memorization and understanding of key Bible verses that show how to know God and walk with Him. A series of awards and trophies reward achievements at every level as kids progress.

Large Group Time

Each club gathers together for the most important part of the entire night, a lesson from God’s Word.


Have More Questions?

If you have questions, call 770-227-5817, or e-mail us at awana@bbc4me.com.